Tags

, ,

At the dental office, I found this partially started poem buried at the bottom of my purse and wondered if it somehow might be completed. God answered my unspoken prayer and gave me the last lines while I sat next to my daughter, who was having her teeth cleaned. Normally, I either read a magazine, or chat with the hygienist, sometimes both. But I think the hygienist we drew for this appointment may have been having a bad day, and neither my daughter nor I tried to start any conversations with her. Anyone who wants to pray for this hygienist is welcome to do so now. Maybe our prayers will bring God’s healing into her life.

Futility

Some days I wish that I could just erase
These problems that I never can outrun:
These things that would destroy, if not for grace.

I feel I have no courage now to face
The weary parts of life that are no fun.
Some days I wish that I could just erase—

Erase unwelcome trials that give me chase,
These things that leave me feeling so undone,
These things that would destroy, if not for grace.

While living in a broken, fallen place,
New pains and sorrows rise with each new sun.
Some days I wish that I could just erase

The pain and loss I wish not to embrace,
That catch me by surprise and my heart stun:
These things that would destroy, if not for grace.

Yet Jesus has a plan, and He can trace
Redemption through the things I find no fun.
Some days I wish, though, I could just erase
These things that would destroy, if not for grace.

by Gwennon
February 2, 2017

I Peter 5:7

