Tags

, , ,

Lord, let me slip these surly bonds of earth,
And over earthly sorrows soar above,
Buoyed high by currents flowing with Your mirth,
Fueled steadily by Jesus’ joy and love.
Oh, I have done some sad and sorry things
I’d hope that I could never see me do.
But Jesus lifts me high on angels’ wings
Beyond my past to life and hope renew.
He looks into my eyes and sees my heart.
He brings me through His pure, refining fire.
Moving to Him, I feel my healing start
As He calls me to Him, flying higher,
No longer in these fields of sin to plod,
But trusting Jesus bless the heart of God.

by GwennonR
July 8, 2016

This poem was inspired by John Gillespie Magee, Jr.’s incredibly beautiful poem “High Flight”, which he wrote at the tender age of 19, just a few months before his untimely death in 1941. His poem is famous around the world, especially among aviators in the armed services. It can be viewed online, or seen performed on youtube.

