Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dear Friends,

For some time, I have been letting my joy disappear.  Then on Tuesday, I realized I needed to praise God actively, and the joy would come as a byproduct of unconditional praise.  I started praying for a poem that would express this.  What a great surprise it was that night at our writing group, a lovely group of prayer warriors who pray first and ask questions later, before moving on to our writing, my friend Susan, who just lost her father, brought this lovely poem to share.  She gave me her permission to share it with you here.  I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have.  it has become my latest favorite poem.  Whereas a lot of the poems I write are just cubic zirconia, this creation of Susan’s is a perfect diamond.  Tell me what you think.

Offering of Joy

Blessings come through tears
My joy is an offering
Lifting praise to God

Grief does not persist
Joy brings fragrant offerings
Trusting God is close

Joy becomes my gift
To honor God who keeps me
Worshipping His name

Leaning on my Lord
Thinking of a soul now free
Joy is finding me

Handing me His peace
Jesus is my source of joy
Offered back to Him

By Susan Kendall
July 5, 2016

 

