A kindly word is a treasure dear:
A cloud from which sweet rains appear:
The rains that water dearest dreams,
The nourishment that we all need.

A gentle word is a costly jewel:
A healing balm, a useful tool
That edifies and brings new life,
The prize both kings and paupers seek.

A thoughtful word is a teacher’s goad
To speed us up when we have slowed,
Or move us to a better road:
Well-timed, soft-spoken by the meek.

A perfect word is a precious joy:
A worker we should all employ.
With this in mind, I want to strive
For carefulness in all I speak.

by Gwennon
March 19, 2015

I would like to tell you (and have you believe) that I am actually very careful with the words I use. But that is just not the truth. Having grown up in a very verbose (and not very verbally-cautious) family, I still have an easier time cursing than blessing. (Did you know that it is possible to curse people and situations without actually using unprintable words? I didn’t know that for a long time. And even knowing that, it is still just so much easier to know what is right than to put it into regular practice. Sigh.) Any time any of you want to pray for God to help me tame my tongue, you are more than welcome to do so.

Needing a tamer tongue,

Gwennon

