Tags

,

Ya know, the WANNA in my OUGHTA
Went a missin’
And was GONE.
And without that cheery WANNA,
It was HARD
To carry on.

Then I called RIGHT LOUD to JESUS
Askin’ HIM
Ta send some HE’P!
And with HEFTY AID from HEAVEN
In SMALL FAITH
I took A STEP:

Well, I DIDNA just say “COULDA!
I just went
And done what’s RIGHT,
But it WEREN’T without a struggle,
And a FIERCE
INTERNAL FIGHT!

‘CAUSE SOMETHIN’ FOLLOWS EVER’ action,
Either long-term
GAIN or LOSS;
And though RECKONIN’ IS COMIN’,
I done paid
The UP-FRONT COST!

by Gwennon
February 24, 2015

for W and C in PT
Did I mention I’m a Southern girl? I sometimes wonder if a re-location to the United Kingdom might cure me of this accent. But I doubt the efficacy of such a move. Sigh!!!

P.S. I don’t mean this to give you the idea that I always – or even consistently, do what’s right (though there are a few occasions when I truly do want to), or that I think I do a lot better than those who know me better know that I do, especially in “small” matters that I tend to sometimes gloss over, presuming upon God’s (and my friends’ and family’s) grace. But this week, something huge came along, and as I considered both the short- and long-term consequences of my next course of action, I realized that there was only one action that I wouldn’t be ashamed to have to explain to Jesus. It came with a price tag I paid only grudgingly, although I tried outwardly to be cheerful about it. When the worst was past, I thought, “The WANNA in my OUGHTA went a missin’ and is GONE!” And thus began this poem.

What I want you to come away with is the idea that Christians know that we aren’t perfect. What we do know is how to keep returning for help to the One Who actually is. Anyone who tries to tell you either that Christians are perfect, or that he himself is perfect, is likely not a true Christian, although he may very well be “churchified”! (“Churchified” is just a fancy name for someone who is just plain mean, but doesn’t know it because he goes to church regularly and has gotten himself inoculated to a lot of the Christian teachings going around there.)

Praying for you to discover that Jesus is real and that He loves you where you are (while at the same time wanting to help you to a better place, both here and in the next world),

Gwennon

Psalm 145 — I soaked myself in this a bit yesterday and found some good refreshment there. Maybe you will, too. : )

