Tags

, ,

Jesus MUST be EVERYTHING:
On HIM we MUST rely.
We need not fear the greatest storms
When HE is standing nigh.

The cord of life may rupture,
But if we hold Jesus’ hand,
We’ll die with joy and peace because
With Christ in heav’n we’ll stand.

So, let God’s CHRIST be EVERYTHING,
And on HIM now rely:
We’ll hold HIM dear, obey and trust,
Then have HIM when we die.

by Gwennon
February 17, 2015

When I was three years old, I remember sitting alone, anxiously worried about whether I would have the courage to die courageously for Jesus if He required it of me. With Stephen and the early Christians as examples I loved and admired, I pondered this often: could pain and suffering turn me away from Jesus at the end? Although at the time I was unaware of current Christian persecution and martyrdom, it seemed unrealistic, even to my three-year-old mind, to count on wickedness in the world disappearing altogether.

These days we are hearing more and more of Christians being murdered simply to satisfy the bloodlust of the evil. And this could just be the beginning, for although we know that Jesus will not delay His return forever, we also know that the church is built on the blood of the martyrs. With this in mind, we need to be praying for our brothers and sisters around the world, that God will strengthen and protect them as they live, and that God will keep their grip on Jesus unshakeable as they are dying. On very rare occasions, I fall asleep praying for these unknown family members who are dying the kinds of death for Christ that I have wished all my life to avoid. If any of you care to join me in these prayers, I assure you they are not unfruitful. And if we ever find ourselves dying these terrible deaths ourselves, I think we can rest assured that not only will Jesus Himself be praying for us, but somewhere in the world, there will be unknown Christian friends that God has prompted to pray for us, too.

I pray this poem encourages someone today. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

You are in my thankful prayers.

Praying,

Gwennon

Psalm 27:14 NIV “Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.”

Psalm 27:14 KJV “Wait on the LORD; be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.”

