Tags

, , , ,

for Lola, my grand-doggie

Her not-so-subtle ploy begins:
A claim for her own space
Beside her parents’ human child,
Whom she wants to displace.

She scoots a little closer,
Then begins to kiss my hands,
Seeking favor and attention
While increasing her demands.

Well, this doggie isn’t kidding
When she says she wants some love,
And when gentle hints won’t work,
She’s not too proud to push and shove!

by Gwennon
September 23, 2013

Lola is what some people might call a firecracker.  She has a mind of her own, and she really likes to do her own thinking, which often leads to interesting conversations.  Last week, I was on the phone with my daughter, Lizzie, who was saying, “Oh, no!  OH, NO!”  “What happened?” I demanded.  “Did the dog hurt the baby?”  “No,” Lizzie sighed.  “But IT’S BAD!”  “You have to tell me what happened!” I insisted.  Lizzie sighed again, before finally blurting, “The dog brought the baby a toy.  And now they’re both eating it.  AT THE SAME TIME!  I GOTTA GO, MOM!”

This is what life with Lola is like.  In a few weeks, my family and I will experience it again first-hand, as we are scheduled for another weekend visitation visit to give my daughter and her husband a chance to “sleep when the baby sleeps” and try to catch up on their rest.  Which will make Lola, and one of my two dogs very happy.  I’m not exactly in a hurry to bring Lola back over here.  If Lizzie were getting all the sleep she needed, I wouldn’t even think about it.  So, if y’all want to pray for us, you are more than welcome to do so!

Praying for you to find the joy in your life today,

Gwennon

