Tags

, , , , ,

That in most cases,
Salvation is not
just
a one-time event,
BUT
instead
turns out to be
a series
of
necessary rescues
from self,
from perception,
from people,
from events,
from all kinds of endless circumstances
that battle endlessly
against those intrepid souls
who dare
CONTINUALLY
to make Jesus their refuge;
I lift again
my SHIELD OF FAITH,
arm myself for battle
against all kinds of deadly unbelief in the eternal goodness of God,
set the compass of all my hopes
on God’s eternal “Well done!”
and look to Jesus,
as I continue
this daily battle
to finally
reach my home
with God,
with the holy angels,
with everything beautiful and desirable
and
with my fellow soldiers:
my FOREVER FRIENDS,
my TRUE FAMILY OF THE HEART –
some familiar now –
and others as yet unknown,
until we recognize each other instantly
in that place
where joys and rest
make all our old struggles
ETERNALLY
Worthwhile;
and
I remember
again,
regardless of my trembling faith
(shockingly shaky at times),
that in these daily struggles,
I am not now,
Nor have I ever been
truly
ALONE.

by Gwennon, September 4, 2013

Hebrews 12:1a “. . .surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses. . .”

Hebrews 13:5b “. . . God has said, Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

