Tags

, , ,

The water that I love to drink
Is oh-so-very-good!
Reminding me that all good things
Flow from the hand of God.

The waters that we here enjoy
Bring life and joy and peace.
But waters flowing free for all
Someday from such will cease.

In heaven for eternity
Sweet waters freely flow.
But those poor, lost souls trapped in hell
Won’t find it so below.

So, when you drink sweet water here,
Do keep this thought nearby:
Our life depends on water, for
Without it we all die.

And it’s the same eternally
In heaven and in hell:
We’ll still need water after death –
And Jesus is the well.

by Gwennon
June 3, 2013

Revelation 22:1
“And he showed me a pure river of water of life, clear as crystal, proceeding out of the throne of God and of the Lamb.”

I wrote this poem after we lost the water in our neighborhood for several long hours. It was not pleasant. But, by the grace of God, it did not last long.

After our water was restored, there was a story on the news about a small town whose well had run dry unexpectedly (or, more accurately, not announced publicly until after the fact). I told myself I would remember to pray for these people, but having had my own comfortable water restored, quickly forgot to keep it up.

Please pray with me for those who do not have a regular supply of clean drinking water.

Praying for you to find what you need in Jesus,

Gwennnon

