Tags

, , ,

Help me to love the ones I love
The way Christ loves them now.
I want to love with Heaven’s love,
But do not yet know how.

I stumble on their carelessness
And bitterly depart
For greener pastures, sight unseen—
I’ve left them in my heart.

I need great love to overcome
Their failings here – and mine—
But such a “love that covers” all
Can only be Divine.

by Gwennon
May 3, 2013

I was a little reluctant to share this ugly glimpse into my heart because I am clearly not what I hope and dream to be – and this poem highlights some of my fallenness: I have a flight response whenever life gets hard. Although I haven’t flown from my family, I have over the years flown from difficult friendships and extended family when the price of love gets to be too high.

I am amazed at the way Jesus loves everyone, regardless of who they are or what they have done. Pridefully (since I am not able to do this myself), I have labeled God’s ability to love like this as “the pride and joy of ownership by right of Special Creation”. I.e., Who couldn’t love what His own hands have made?

But although God never walks away from anyone, He can be driven away through the choices of those who reject Him and move themselves outside the protection of His love. Reading the Bible literally, I can see that God values the free will of the individual more than He values His own feelings and affections toward any given individual. He will not override our will.

Having said all that, though, I want to return to the generous love of God, which overlooks so much, and teaches us to do the same, if we have a heart to learn it.

I Corinthians 13:4-8a tells us
“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

I Peter 4:8 says
“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.”

This is not the kind of love we naturally have in our hearts. It is, instead, the kind of love that flows constantly from the heart of God. And He offers to share it freely with anyone who will ask.

Do you want God’s love in your heart today? It is only a prayer away.

Praying for you to know the love God has for you,

Gwennon

