Tags

, , , , , , ,

How joyfully He left His home above,
Electing to live here like one of us:
Libation for our sins, poured out in love.
Ironic that this King, without a fuss,
Variety of lowly work now did,
Engrossed in blessing God and serving man,
Disintegrating barriers of sin.
Tenacious was our Sacrificial Lamb:
Obedient to God in every way,
Salvation to provide for willing hearts,
Erecting Heaven’s bridge from God to man.
Refusing every call to disobey,
Victorious, our Shepherd would impart
Emancipating love to all His lambs.

by Gwennon
February 27, 2009

Mark 10:43b-45
“Instead, whoever wants to be great among you must be your servant; and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life a ransom for many.”

This poem had its beginning—of all places!—in the autobody shop, where I was having some work done on the car. I usually go prepared with stationery, something to read, and sometimes some needlework. This time, I was armed with extra paper, and a pocket dictionary as well. The title and acrostic came to me, along with a possible rhyme scheme, and other ideas. Reading the dictionary for words to fit the acrostic, I found the first six lines writing themselves. Then it was time to pay for services rendered and leave. The next eight lines took several more days to complete, as I pondered various possibilities and nuances of meanings. On completion, I took a copy to my friend Tanya, the church secretary, who hung it on the bulletin board in her office. That made me feel good.

As I read this poem, I try to meditate on the amazing life of service that Jesus gave on our behalf. My reason for wanting to write this poem in the first place was a desire to be more like Jesus, especially around the house. Quite a change from the child whose great ambition in life was to grow up filthy rich and have so many servants that housework I did myself would be nothing but a fading memory!

Praying that God will open your eyes to the many ways Jesus serves you every day,

Gwennon

