Tags

, , ,

With her stylish, reddish hood,
She threw her looks in others’ face,
And the way she treated neighbors
Was a terrible disgrace:

While other groups were foraging
For food along the ground,
She claimed their turf and
Feasted on the morsels they had found.

I scarcely could believe my eyes
As horrified I watched
Her shameless, selfish actions
As she stole from one and all.

I pondered her behavior
As into the trees she flew:
A textbook-case example
Of what “ladies” shouldn’t do!

This brokenness in nature
Brought me bitterness of soul,
For these creatures showed a picture
Of a world no longer whole.

The incident soon brought to life
A verse that I had known:
Through this sorrowful example of
The way “creation groans.”

In Eden, life was better –
When all lived to honor God,
Since wickedness in action
Was unknown before THE FALL.

by Gwennon
April 27, 2013

Romans 8:20-23
“For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.”  [emphasis added]

That was from the NIV. In the King James Version, verse 22 says, “creation groaneth”. That “eth” on the end of groan shows a continuing action, so that what is read “groaneth” is interpreted “groans continually” or “is in the continual action of groaning”. And doesn’t that just describe the creation that we see today?

I wrote this poem yesterday between a Bible class and a wedding at church, but the poem had been percolating for at least a couple of years from a time when I saw the whole terrible affair outside my kitchen window. On that day, my little “morning glories” were not entirely well-behaved: a lady cardinal in particular was mistreating and stealing from all the other birds – especially sparrows, whom I love. Callously, she shooed – and nearly kicked—the other birds out of her way. I was so shocked that I immediately picked up the phone and spilled the whole story to my mother-in-law, who was also shocked. Collectively, right over the phone, we shook our heads in disgust at the “lady’s” behavior, and shook a condemning index finger her way, urging her to live better, knowing someone was watching her. But until Jesus returns and redeems everything that can be redeemed, I think we can expect more of the same.

It is a beautiful world we live in. But it’s also a fallen world. And examples to back up this statement are not too hard to find.

Still, keep your eyes on Jesus and look for the beauty God has for you!

Praying for you to know how much God loves you,

Gwennon

