Tags

, , , , ,

Look for the beauty God has for you
Scattered far and near!
Look for the treasures He placed in view
To show He holds you dear.
He created your eyes to behold great things –
Then put them where you could!
So, look for the treasures so generously
Prepared by our loving God.

by Gwennon
8:00 am
April 26, 2013

I wrote this poem for my dear little daughter “Lacey” – another melancholy soul like myself. This morning on the way to school, she was studying homework she should have finished last night, and her disposition was not exactly cheerful. “I hate this road!” she exclaimed irritably. I was shocked. We were surrounded by exquisite trees and birds, plus gorgeous mountain views. Who wouldn’t absolutely love this particular road? “Open your eyes to the beauty God has for you!” I told her. And thus began this poem. Red lights and backed-up traffic enabled me to capture the words on paper before I got home. But to be honest, I am often the fault-finding soul who misses the beauty all around me. So, this poem is also for me.

